Jesus, I Trust in You!

I often wake up at two am for no rational reason.  For many years this frustrated me to no end, lying there trying to fall asleep. In one of the many conversations I had with my Spiritual Director, he suggested, “What a great time to turn to the Lord in prayer. To listen for that tiny whispering sound. To remember all his words in this Gospel. And reach for his hand, outstretched toward mine…”

Friends, know that in those times the next step is ours. We may falter and begin to sink into our troubles. Why don’t we rather imitate Peter and cry out to Jesus, “Lord, save me!” (Mt 14:30) Because when we do, He is right there with us, “Right away, Jesus reached out his hand. He helped Peter up and said, “You surely don’t have much faith. Why do you doubt?” (Mt 14:31). In those moments Jesus may seem far away, but, as you cry out to Him, immediately His arm is there to lift you up (Mt 14:31).  Let us take the challenge of King David to “Trust in Him at all times” (Ps 62:9) to heart. 

Friends, here are Jesus words to us:

“Take courage, it is I; do not be afraid.”
“Come.”
“O you of little faith, why did you doubt?”

Leave a comment