And I think to myself, what a wonderful world

Yesterday was Good Friday, what is today? If we can put ourselves into the disciples shoes, what were they feeling? Did they have a glimmer of hope or was it it all despair? Did they recall any of Jesus’ words them, or were they consumed by their grief? Were they filled with fear or were they hopeful about the future? Sounds in some small way a little like what the world is going through with the COVID-19 virus, doesn’t it?

Today is always a strange day for me. A day between the time of Jesus death and resurrection. In this time of lockdown, we cannot fill it with friends, distract ourselves with the busyness of life. We are forced to stop and reflect. In actuality, it is a blessing.

I love the way Louie Armstrong sang, “The bright blessed day, the dark sacred night; And I think to myself what a wonderful world” Why don’t we allow today to be a day of blessing. Spending it in His Presence, reflecting on the significance of the cross. Perhaps realizing that life is more than what we presently make of it.

And tonight as we go through, the dark sacred night; we can think to ourselves what a wonderful world! Considering the future hope we have, should affect the way we do things, see things, and the choices we make presently.

Let the Easter message that Jesus has died and risen from the dead for you be with you in all you do. Can I encourage you to receive Jesus Christ or reaffirm your faith by praying this prayer:

Dear Jesus, thank you for dying on the cross for me. I believe you are alive today and you are Lord and God.

Please forgive all my sins and guilt and cleanse me from all the wrong I have ever done.

Set me free from the past. I invite you into my life by your Holy Spirit. Fill me with your power, presence and peace.

Help me from this day on to follow you.

I pray this prayer in Jesus’ name. Amen.

If you prayed this prayer, Jesus has not only heard it but answered it. I say to you “Welcome to the family!” Tell someone, tell me, I’d love to connect with you. Get a bible and begin reading the book of John. You can even download it to your phone for free. Just follow this link – The @YouVersion Bible App Read, watch, listen, and share…all for free in the app: http://bible.com/app

And I think to myself what a wonderful world! Stay healthy, stay safe, stay connected.

Grace & peace

Andrew

Leave a comment